IND vs SL: Indian team announced for T20 and Test series against Sri Lanka

The Indian team for the three T20 and two Test series against Sri Lanka has been announced. Chetan Sharma, the chief selector of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), announced the squad on Saturday (February 19). During this time, Rohit Sharma was named the Indian Test team’s new captain. In Tests, he will be India’s 35th captain. KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, and Jasprit Bumrah will be ready as the next Test captains while playing under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, according to Chetan Sharma. Any one of these three individuals has the potential to lead India in the future. Rohit is more concerned with the T20 and ODI World Cups.

For the third T20I against the West Indies and the entire T20I series against Sri Lanka, Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant have been rested. Shardul has been rested for the Sri Lankan T20 and Test series. Saurabh Kumar, a left-arm spinner from Uttar Pradesh, has been called up to the Indian Test team for the first time. As a back-up, he went to South Africa.

Rahane and Pujara have been left out of the Test squad.

The Test squad has been reduced by Ajinkya Rahane and Cheteshwar Pujara. Both have been ruled out of the Test series against Sri Lanka, Chetan Sharma said at the time of the team announcement. They are competing in the Ranji Trophy. It’s fortunate that two of India’s top players are competing in Ranji.

Similar Articles


Most Popular